ALUMINUM WELD Questions !!!!!!

-

pastortom1

Reaction score
Guys........

I wanna use my Lincoln SP135-T Mig to weld some aluminum framing...I'm modifying an enclosed trailer.......

I've never welded aluminum before........

Can you guys give me some tips on what to watch for, what not to do, whatever.........? The framing will probably be 1/8" to 3/16" average.....

How about some pro-pointers...........8)

I have been told by several real good welders that you need a spool gun to realy weld alum with a mig. they say the alum wire is so soft that it will not feed to the gun properly. I want to do the same thing I have a Holbart 180 that weld steel like a Champ. i use 75/25 mix so i can't try alum with that gas. and spool guns are not cheap. Sorry not much help here.

I'm not a true pro in alum welding but I've welded steel, stainless and some alum for about 15 years (off & on). Alum has to be spotless clean...absolutly no dirt allowed. get a new grinder wheel or wire brush wheel and only use it for alum. clean it untill it looks good and clean and then clean it 1 more time. Any contaimination will give poor quality weld (contamination) and add dificulty to "wetting" in the bead. Heat wise you will have to watch for the edges of your added rod to determin if your arc is to cold , just right or to hot. to cold and it'll puddle or lay on top of the base metal. to hot and your base metal will sink away. good heat will make the base metal and added rod flow "wet" together or blend together smoothly. a few test welds on scrap would be helpfull. hope this helps

Guys........

I wanna use my Lincoln SP135-T Mig to weld some aluminum framing...I'm modifying an enclosed trailer.......

Can you guys give me some tips on what to watch for, what not to do, whatever.........? The framing will probably be 1/8" to 3/16" average.....