Anyone have any experience with changing cams in crate?

-

71dusterdude

Reaction score
Hello, newbie here, been doin some research on my motor...finally with some great help on here, I found out what I actually have. Wondering if anyone with a 380 / 360 has experimented with any cam changes on these and if theres any performance gains. Thank you in advance

They are set up really good by mopar but are on the conservative with the compression.
I would pull the heads and mill them to up the compression and use a thin head gasket.
Bowl port the heads and gasket match the intake and header gaskets;
If you want more then this i would run a higher ratio rocker arm for more lift.
Checking the valve to piston clearance should be done with any of these modifications.
The cams a little big but just bring the rest of the engine in line to it,most importantly the converter and gears.

In fact the most important thing is the converter and gears with the tire size being the determining factor.
That engine is fine the way it is and will provide great performance if the rest of the car is complimenting the cams dynamics.

Changing the cam is only a good idea if your looking to DE-TUNE the engine.

I would take it out of the crate first!

seriously a cam is part of a package and must be matched to the intake, carb, comp ratio, trans, rear axle ratio, vehicle weight, and most important intended use, without all these factors taken into consideration randomly changing the cam will probably do more harm than good,

Thanks guys.....not goin to pull the motor...maybe i didnt write my post well enough, ...I just bought the car...paid alot a cash for it....its super show car nice. It is a 4 speed car with 391 gears. It runs alright....im honestly just looking for a simple cam change, not really getting into dumping alot more money in the car. Just wondering if its possible to improve this combo with cam swap only. Thanks again