Automatic/Manual?

-

pacuda59

pacuda59
Reaction score
I'll start by saying I'm very new to the world of Mopar. Within the last few months I picked up a beautiful 69 Barracuda convertible. As I start to plan for drive train improvements, I've decided to stick with the /6 and am undecided about the transmission, it's currently auto on the column. I see members doing absolutely beautiful restorations, spending tens of thousands of $$. I would have assumed that the transmission of choice would be 4 or 5 speed, however the tranny of choice seems to be an automatic in 4 of 5 cases. When I think muscle car I think clutch...shift, what am I not taking into account?

Jim

some people are clueless or something

4 speed's rule!!!!

:burnout::burnout::burnout::burnout:

That is a yes and no affair and is all about how you want the car. In my case if I'm driving a convertible, I'm not about to go row through some damn gears so auto only. A hardtop is either way depending on what you're doing. A strip only car would be auto only, a road racer/auto cross would (or should) be a stick. As far as the Duster I'm building now (much to my dismay which I was told) will be an auto because the person now wanting to drive it can't/won't drive a stick because of age/knee problems.
If you opt for an auto and are not dead set on it being an all Mopar drivetrain look at the GM 200r4. It is smaller then a 904 or 727, which means you don't have to do tranny tunnel surgery in order to make it fit. Don't require a computer to work (just a 12volt source to kick the torque converter into lock up mode). However, like the 904 it needs to be built up internally for it to take any real power (seen the 200r4 live quite nicely behind 1200hp grand national) and like the 904, takes less horse power to power it then a 727. The GM 200r4 is an overdrive tranny (in case I didn't state that earlier).

Thanks Duster, I appreciate the feedback.