Ballast resistor is broken...

-

gdrill

I AM
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
I don't know how often this happens. I am just learning the ins and outs of Mopar electronics. But I was having a spark issue so I pulled the ballast resistor for a look and found it was broken. I have a spare to try, hopefully it isn't broken as well!

Attachments

• IMG_0881.JPG
    109.9 KB · Views: 379
  • IMG_0882.JPG
    105.3 KB · Views: 358
They have, can, and do break. Good thing they are cheap. I'd buy two. Things like water from a car wash, etc, can break em, or leaving the key on for too long (engine off), running a big hi--ratio coil not designed for it, or even a bad coil.

You might as well throw one in your glove box, one in your lunchbox, one in your wifes purse, one in your kids backpack, you may even want to wire tie one onto your dog's collar.

In other words, keep them on hand.....

You might as well throw one in your glove box, one in your lunchbox, one in your wifes purse, one in your kids backpack, you may even want to wire tie one onto your dog's collar.

Words to live by.

I keep two in glove box one for personal use, and the other for a fellow Mopar driver when in need.

Just plane idle...

I must live wrong. Of course nowadays I run an HEI module, and NO ballast, but I don't think I've replaced more than about 4 of the things in my entire lifetime. To put that timewarp into a proper frame, I first put a Mopar breakerless system on the old 70 WAY back around 73 or so. Someone had one on their car, had trouble with it, and wanted my help to hook up a Mallory DUAL POINT, and wanted "all that crap" off their car.

so I happily put my own dual point in the trunk, and hooked up the entire breakerless system on mine!!!

I think I replaced one ballast after that one, the system was on the car when it got sold around 75-76