Battery Cut Off Question

-

'70_Duster_340

Reaction score
I was doing some reading here last night and have a question. The battery is in the trunk so I need a cut off switch to race. I just mounted the switch, ran one wire from the "off" side to the positive post on the battery. Then hooked the existing battery cable and heavy wire that runs to the starter relay, to the positive side of the switch..

I tested it by turning it off and the car won't start, so I'm thinking it's good? Now I read that I have to take the positive wire off the alternator and run it to the switch, or the switch won't shut down the car ?

Anyone help me out here ? Also, can I just go out and fire up the car and shut off the remote switch, w/o doing any harm ??

Thanks,

Kenny

I'm not very good at wiring and that confuses the hell out of me ](*,) There's got to be an easier way?

Anyone ?? Will I harm anything by trying to shut the car down w/ the switch, or will it keep running off the alternator ?

Im not positive but I think you can disconnect the hot feed to the ballast resistor and run one from the trunk cut off. I would first try just running the cable to the relay and see what happens.

Talked to someone smarter than me,99% of the population but anyway,you have to run the red alternator wire to the BATTERY side of the trunk cut off so when the switch is off the alt cant feed the system thru the switch. Hope this makes sense.When switch is on system charges.Hot current from alt. has nowhere to go with switch off.

Talked to someone smarter than me,99% of the population but anyway,you have to run the red alternator wire to the BATTERY side of the trunk cut off so when the switch is off the alt cant feed the system thru the switch. Hope this makes sense.When switch is on system charges.Hot current from alt. has nowhere to go with switch off.

Correct, The switch needs to shut the car off. Not just keep it from starting.