Best Reliability ?

-

MagicMan

Reaction score
Inexperienced newbie here looking for some advice from all you seasoned veterans. I recently acquired a 69 Dart with a 2bbl 318, it will be my daily driver and sole means of transportation. As of right now the old car runs like a top, when you can get it started that is ! It seems to flood itself out without even touching the gas. I have electronic ignition on the way so that should help some. My question is should I leave the 2bbl and rebuild it ($40)? Possibly replace it with a rebuilt unit ($125)? Or swap the manifold and put something like a 625 Street Demon on it which has electric choke and a fast idle circuit($500) ?
As I said, this will be my daily driver, so my priorities are 1) Reliability ! 2) Fuel Economy 3) Performance.

Go with electronic ignition, 4-bbl with electric choke (much more reliable), and consider dual exhaust like 2 1/4" pipes.

The accelerator pumps on the original 2 bbl carbs wear out too fast and can be problematic. Run 4 bbl with electric choke, hooked up to the input side of the ballast resistor. To find the input side, disconnect both wires to the ballast resistor and turn the ignition on. Hook a test light up to a ground, then poke the pointy side into each of the terminals that you took off of the ballast resistor. The one that lights up is the input side.

Dual exhaust will help with performance and economy. Take the car out on the highway and start at 55 mph and see how long it takes to accelerate to 80 or 90. Then get dual exhaust put on and try it again. You will see a big difference.

I can not comment on the new street demon but the size is right. In the past, I used a Carter/Fed-Mougal 625 AFB. Dead reliable.