Best way to cool it?

-

michformulaS

Reaction score
I have been driving my Barracuda with the 416 now for about 2 years. It runs awesome but on fairly hot days like today it tends to push 3/4+ on the factory temp gage. I wonder what the factory gage temps are? I put in a separate oil pressure gage because I didn't trust the factory gages. Should I be concerned running 85% on the factory temp gage? What is the best way to cool? I am considering an aluminum radiator with electric fans. Any suggestions?
Thanks

Has it overheated and boiled coolant out the overflow? I would imagine a bigger/hotter powerplant would push the limit of your stock radiator but I wouldn't think 3/4 up on a factory gauge would be a problem. Hook in a manual gauge to be shure. A 180 degree thermostat will usually run around 190 or so.

I found that a high volume water pump and HV thermostat, like the one offered by Milodon, made a huge difference in operating temperatures on my car.

Has the fan got a shroud, if not get one or have one made, Is it overheating crusiing around town or on the highway or both. When was the last time you had the rad flushed.

On mine I put a 7 blade flex fan on it with no shroud plus when I changed water pumps on it I used one for an a/c car ( it has 1 more impellor than non a/c). Last year when it was 100+ outside I drove across town and it never got over 190-195 degrees.Yes you should get a real guage in the car .