Body work /paint prep tips

-

fredsmedina

6 Dart 7 MOPAR OR NOCAR
Reaction score
Starting bodywork on my dart this week. any tips for me? all of the panels are alligned pretty good right now. there already seems to be some bondo on the rear quarters. and i'll probably need to use a little bondo in other areas of the car. I've never done any body work at all before. So any tips would be helpful!not going for show quality bodywork. Just want it to overall look straight. I should shoot the whole car with an epoxy primer before I begin any body work. right? going to be painting it a gloss silver metallic..

concentrate on one panel at a time,grind out old filler because A)you don,t know what it is or how long it's been there B)you don't know what's under it. remove any trim before you start nickel looks real bad with orbital marks on it,get an old fender or door and practice every step of the way,trim removal,sanding,grinding,mixing/applying filler priming,putty,blocking get a feel for pressures and patterns and most importantly be PATIENT good bodywork takes time and skill,skill can be developed,patience has to be learned.Also go to any of the other resto threads and read every word/study all pictures good work requires following a procedure/following steps without skipping any,after all good looking body/paint is all prep work.

What grit do you start with..my a body has no rust..just a few small dents..do you wet sand first ? is there a good book or web site for this..

Ian.