Boost and timing

-

chargd72

Reaction score
Those with blowers or turbos. I'm running a magnum 360/408 at 9.1:1 compression with a Novi 2000. I'm guessing I will be around 12-15 psi when I get the car back on the road (first pull I hit 10 psi my stock 904 blew up as expected, but that's a whole different story). Right now I have timing locked out at 34* and I'm pulling 1.4* per psi until I get my air/fuel readings and adjusted properly. What is your target total timing for those running at full boost?

Last edited:
I am running a 340 with 8.2 to 1 compression with a 6/71 (6 lbs boost) and I have my timing locked at 31 degrees. I'm not pulling any timing. When I go to 10 lbs boost I run a water/meth injection system coming on at 5 lbs boost and the timing stays at 31 degrees.

Jack

I am running a 340 with 8.2 to 1 compression with a 6/71 (6 lbs boost) and I have my timing locked at 31 degrees. I'm not pulling any timing. When I go to 10 lbs boost I run a water/meth injection system coming on at 5 lbs boost and the timing stays at 31 degrees.

Jack

That's probably pretty much right where you want to be with your compression. Is your bottom end built? My goal is to pull 1.0-0.9* of timing per psi. So at 15psi that will put me right about 20* total when all in on 93 octane. I'm just trying to confirm that's a safe target. Once I get that dialed in, I would like to run alky so I can put in more timing.

My bottom end is a stock forged crank, Eagle H-beam rods and TRW forged pistons. They are heavy which in my opinion helps in a boosted engine. My only advice on the timing is to start conservative and then sneak up on it a little at a time. Every engine is different, especially when it comes to boost. The last thing you want to do is figure you have it nailed and set it at what you think is an optimum setting. Chances are that you will not like the results.