Bracket/breakout?

-

Joker13

Reaction score
I realize this is a complete beginners question, but I know this this would be the place to find an answer.

What is the type of racing where there is a launch, then lay off, kind of roll a bit, then hit it? I was at Atco Sunday and aside from the Nostalgia class, the others did this. I am not familiar with it.

lol, that must be the .90 classes. Super Street=10.90, Super Gas=9.90 and Super Comp=8.90.

Racers have throttle stops that kick in right after launch, then a timer keeps it on for a predetermined length of time. The length of the throttle stop being on will affect how close they get to their index. Most build killer HP engines, then use the throttle stop to slow down the ET. But they still have a very high MPH to make it difficult for others to judge. But bracket racers can do it too.

Stutter boxes are illegal....
what you have throttle stop under the carb that is controlled by a computer ....the throttle stop is opened and closed by the computer ....basically a timer to allow a car that can run 9 flat to slow down to 10.90.....yes..boring

Correct,and it's the most BORING to watch:BangHead::BangHead::BangHead:
Excruciatingly boring. I came of age at the track in the early 80s. Heavy Eliminator etc. Been to track few times a year over the past couple years and never saw this.

lol, that must be the .90 classes. Super Street=10.90, Super Gas=9.90 and Super Comp=8.90.

Racers have throttle stops that kick in right after launch, then a timer keeps it on for a predetermined length of time. The length of the throttle stop being on will affect how close they get to their index. Most build killer HP engines, then use the throttle stop to slow down the ET. But they still have a very high MPH to make it difficult for others to judge. But bracket racers can do it too.
Thanks. Now I know to stay away from .90 class!

Thanks. Now I know to stay away from .90 class!