Brake pedal rod for master cylinder - which to use?

-

Rocket

FABO Gold Member
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
I have a replacement master cylinder to use for my 69 Barracuda. I am looking for the rod that connects the brake pedal to the master cylinder that will work with this master. The rod that was in my car originally is bolted to the master and has a rubber boot over where it mates to the back of the master.

For the new replacement master it appears the rod does not attach to anything and just rests inside the recess of the piston plunger (plunger has a recess of around 3/4 inch). The rod would need to look the the end of a pushrod. I guess the brake pedal cannot move back sufficiently with the correct length rod for it to back out.

Any ideas from which vehicle I can get the right rod?

Thanks

If it is a direct reaplcement it should fit with a new rubber bushing to go on the end of the rod that inserts into the master cyl.

I suspect my replacement master is from a later vehicle. THe replacement cannot accept the bolt on flange that goes with the existing rod and rubber boot assembly.

Do you have any pics rocket? I used a disc master on my 65 Cuda and all went together well.

Here is a picture of the master I took off. I have not been able to remove the rod. That is why I was looking for a replacement. The bolted flange holds the piston assembly in the bore and does not hold the rod in place.
What is the best way to get this rod out of the bore? My next step is to destroy the piston assembly to get at the rod.

Master and pedal rod.jpg

Chuck the end of the rod in the vise and bang the flange on the master cylinder with a BFH. If you hit it hard enough the rod should pop out of the old master cylinder. The only thing holding it in is a rubber retainer and years of grunge.

As stated, the rod is held with a rubber safety retainer that fits into a machined groove inside the piston bore. All you need to do is get physical with it.