Camshaft selection with Turbo

-

Hyper Henry

Reaction score
I would like to order a camshaft for my 470 ci single turbo build and wondering who and what you guys have used before? I sent my info to Comp Cams and waiting to hear back but would like to get a couple more recommendations from other camshaft mfgs.

According to Corky Bell's book, "Maximum Boost" your best bet is usually a STOCK cam when going to a turbo. His argument is that too much valve-overlap is counterproductive for turbos. That said, I never did install a turbo. I had planned to (that's why I read the book) but I have a "lobey" cam (and it sounds so cool). Anyway... I'm no expert so I probably shouldn't even open my mouth! Be sure to provide lots of cool pictures on your project!

Let’s be clear here. Corky Bells book maximum boost is a great reference and Corky does say to use a stock cam but only if you have no idea what you are doing. Speaking with a good camshaft grinder and having them grind you a cam is the best route. What he meant by his statement is a turbocharged engine has needs different from naturally aspirated and or a supercharged engine and if you are not going to address those needs you are better off leaving the stock cam in the engine. Do not pick a catalog cam and hope it will work well. I recommend contacting Bullet, Mike Jones, comp, Oregon, any and all of them and getting a custom cam suited for YOUR application. Also pick up corky bells book it has a lot of good info in it.

Or Shane aka dart19666 he works for Crower cams and can custom grind you one too, great guy, I got one from him for mine.

From my understanding - you want less overlap and as much lift as you can get... overlap obviously bleeds off boost pressure so a lot of overlap is not ideal... high lift allows more air to be taken in... The stock cam is good but really low lift... would be better off with a high lift cam with conservative duration and an wider LSA....