Carb help * the famous debate and 2x different cars

-

ValerianMagnum

the little car that could
Reaction score
Ok !! So my 380hp ( 400hp/440 tq ) crate duster's holley is shot ( 650 cfm : 4777 ) d.pumper , and im looking for another one...a 750 cfm dp would be better i think ? , So i bought a 750 cfm edelbrock for my stock 5.9 magnum ( 300hp/400 tq ) that goes in the big 68 fury , should i put a 4160 600 vacuum that i have on a shelf that needs a rebuilt or the newly bought 750 cfm edelbrock ? fury is 3800 pounds / stock 5.9 magnum / and 2.76 for now , soon will be 3.23 ...So , should i put the 650 dp of the duster on my stock 5.9 , the 750 cfm edelbrock , OR the 600 cfm 4160 vaccum ..... EDELBROCK VS HOLLEY , and im a newbie to adjust carbs , my friend was doing the fine tuning ..hes not around anymore

received_573665181128126.jpeg

Screenshot_20240324_175215_eBay.jpg

received_1619973882166413.jpeg

Last edited:
i don't care for the eddy 750, but that aside...

i'd put the 600 holley w/ vac 2ndaries on the luxo barge and then put the double pumper on the duster.

Just say no to Holley.
Enough choices between AFB, AVS, TQ already without complicating things by including Holley

It looks like your kickdown linkage needs a little massaging. At rest, that throttle pin should be touching the rear of that slot. Or your transmission will not love you.

The Edelbrock AFB style 750 has had tons of problems. Just Google it.

The Edelbrock AFB style 750 has had tons of problems. Just Google it.
Might as well set Your hand flat on the bench & smack it w/a ballpeen, otherwise, You'll be smashing a $400 carb with it.......I know a machinist that did exactly that to one.......the pain in the hand will be over quicker w/o the $400 price tag....
:rofl:

@junkyardhero nailed it in post #2

I wouldn't put a 600 V-sec Holley on anything bigger than a 273. Ok wait;