carburetor questions and identification

-

tone

FABO Gold Member
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
I'm a newb and I'm having a hard time identifying the carb on my 64 Barracuda (3sp with a 273)... at some point a previous owner replaced the factory carb with what I believe to be a holley reman'ed 64-1166 carburetor, based on the box that the old factory carb was in. There are no tags on it. It's got various factory castings on the different parts, but I'm under the assumption that there isn't any easy way to identify it for sure without the actual tags, since it's a carter. Anyone have any ideas? I've attached a picture of the carb. Definitely looks like a Carter BBD of some variety, but no clue past that ..

I've been having fuel issues that I'd like to believe are carb related (poor idle, despite fiddling with the mixture screws - to keep it running, I have to have the choke partially out) ... I have a feeling there's some sort of vacuum leak and I'm not sure where to really start looking. If it's got throttle, it runs relatively smooth. I've done timing and replaced the points, rotor, cap, etc.

The car hasn't been run much in recent years, to the best of my knowledge - I have a suspicion that the carb might just need a good cleaning and rebuild.

Also, one more general question - forgive my lack of vocabulary, but what's the purpose of the plate with the hole in it on the passengers side of the carb, right below the vacuum hose that the choke cable bracket is attached to?

Feel free to educate me if I'm missing something obvious (and I hope I am) - I'm new to mopars and don't have much past a basic understanding of how carburetors work.

IMG_0389_resized.jpg