Clutch pedal stays on floor

-

DUSTERDOWNS

Reaction score
In my 70 340 Duster when I shift at over 5 grand the clutch feels really light and the pedal wants to stay on the floor. When I say feels light it feels as if I could push it in with two fingers. Any suggestions , is there suppose to be a spring to pull the pedal back up or what? thanks Steve

I'm no expert but it sounds like the springs in your pressure plate are shot. My slanty used to do that before I replaced the clutch and pressure plate.

Not a tech but i have heard theres a over center spring under the dash that keeps it from getting stuck over center. use the search option here and search over center spring. you will find a plethora of info.

i had the same problem steve, it was my clutch. btw, did you get my last message?

Yep, spring. I went to auto, and the spring holds my clutch pedal to the floor, out of the way. And what a **** to install one.

If it is a Borg & Beck (3 finger non diaphragm style) each of the 3 fingers pivot on a pin. One or more may have broke.

I have had this problem more than once and will never use a Borg & Beck style clutch again.

I thought it was the overspring that held the pedal down?
The spring above the pedal makes it easier to push the clutch pedal down- to get it to come back up you need to put a spring, or two, on the fork. Mine goes from the fork to the bell housing where there is a small hole for the springs to hook to. I need a better spring as under high rpms the pedal still does not want to come up. You can remove the over spring if you are ok with the pedal being a little harder to push.

Centerforce???

You may need to remove the overcenter spring on your pedal assembly.

Diaphram style clutch hats will do that sometimes.

I don't have that trim piece you were looking for.

Centerforce???

You may need to remove the overcenter spring on your pedal assembly.

Diaphram style clutch hats will do that sometimes.