Distributor changes

-

Abodysrule

FABO Gold Member
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
OK, so I built my SL6 using another board's experts over the years, which included a special spring kit and limiting the mechanical advance and using a particular vacuum pod on the distributor. I don't recall all the specifics, but it was starting with a stock super six dizzy and for my mild build, the adjustments improved the performance markedly. NOTE: I'm no expert, but I can implement anything given clear instructions. For example, I welded/ground the centrifugal weight pin slots to limit the mechanical advance, installed the spring kit etc. on my super six distributor, all worked out great in that example. Again, I don't recall the specifics of that advance curve, mechanical, vacuum or total advance, but it was appropriate given the board experts guided me in that particular example.

So, now I'm preparing for a 360 magnum swap. The engine is being built, it'll have around 370 hp, run on pump gas, not sure of the cam specifics at this time, but it'll get dyno tested prior to shipment, and it will come with all those details. This will be a street machine, not racing it, but I do like quick response and a strong acceleration when I hit the pedal.

I have a stock mopar LA distributor for the engine already. Are there any modifications similar to those described above that I should consider for this 360 Magnum, or, should that be fine for this application generally speaking? Again, I realize there are many scenarios specific to any particular build or intended use.

Thanks for any insights all.

Brian

LOL there was just a similar thread. The basics: