fuel cell questions

-

72ScampTramp

Scamp Tramp
Reaction score
Ok so in trying to remove the filler tube to drop my gas tank I ended up breaking the tank where the filler tube goes in.... So get another tank or fuel cell? im leaning against fuel cell for cost but I dont want any gas smell in the car is this a problem with fuel cells? Can I run a fuel cell and mechanical pump? In case you cant tell im a complete noob and need some answers to my dumb questions.

1. You can run a fuel cell with a mechanical pump.
2. If the cell is properly vented and you don't spill fuel filling it, you don't get a smell.
3. I think getting a different tank or having the one you have repaired,is the most cost efective. my 2 cents.

Do you plan on racing the car......EVER? If so, then you need to pick up a NHRA rule book. Probably wouldn't be a bad idea either way. Cause with a fuel cell there's a specific way to mount it pre NHRA if you want to run it on a sanctioned track. All that hooha said. I'd sling another tank in it. lol

Another tank would be quicker, You mentioned getting another fuel sending unit why would you need that?

well I needed new lines and switch to 3/8ths sending unit. I was going to use the gas tank... No I dont plan to race... maybe a few runs but a street car.. I can get a fuel cell and sending with sending unit from summit cheaper then I can just buy a tank

well I needed new lines and switch to 3/8ths sending unit. I was going to use the gas tank... No I dont plan to race... maybe a few runs but a street car.. I can get a fuel cell and sending with sending unit from summit cheaper then I can just buy a tank

Then I would run a new tank and 3/8 sender. You ain't stupid. That's a good plan. Plus, it'll be NHRA legal long as it's all installed right so no worries at the tech tower if you ever decide to run it.