Fuzzy Math

-

Captainkirk

Old School Mopar Warrior
Reaction score
I know I'm opening a can of worms here. But I brought popcorn, so it's all good.:popcorn:

Regarding carb size on a 340 build...going by the CFM formula in the old Holley Carbs by Mike Urich and Bill Fisher, my calculation come up with a CFM requirement of somewhere in the 600 cfm rating for a 340 cube engine. Most people seem to be running carbs with quite a bit higher air flow ratings. With max RPM being in the 6500 range for a hydraulic grind and 4-speed trans, would a Holley 4777 (650 double pumper) be "adequate" for a street performance build, and why or why not?
I realize I'll probably get a thousand opinions from a thousand different people, but that's OK.
I brought extra popcorn...

A lot of guy's are going 750 but depends on your build. Staying close to a stock build a 650 Holley or Eddy carb would work. It would still run good on a 600 but imo it'a conservative. Ohh, I'm no expert.

Throw in the fact that most box-stock carbs actually flow considerably less than the numbers they're rated at, and 650 on a mild build and 700-750 on a hot build suddenly doesn't seem too far off base.
Remember, the factory put TQ carbs on stone stock engines that flowed up to 1000 cfm, and the six packs that were rated at 1300...

Maybe for a Holley. Factory 340 AVS was 630 cfm and 71-73 TQ was 750 cfm. I've run a 71 TQ 750 cm on a 273, 4 speed, and loved it. Sold all the Holley carbs years ago.

Throw in the fact that most box-stock carbs actually flow considerably less than the numbers they're rated at, and 650 on a mild build and 700-750 on a hot build suddenly doesn't seem too far off base.
Remember, the factory put TQ carbs on stone stock engines that flowed up to 1000 cfm, and the six packs that were rated at 1300...
Yes, but...