Heater controls on 68 rally dash

-

4 speedin

Reaction score
I am trying to install my heater controls on my new rally dash set up on my 68 Valiant. The bezel is installed and it looks as though i might have to remove the bezel to install the controls. I have never done this before so any advise would be greatly appreciated. * Here are photo's of my issue, My dash frame is a 69 I believe, A new bezel and my heater controls are from my original 68 Valiant dash. There is a substantial angle difference between the bezel housing and the bezel and I am very confused and need some help.
Thanks Mike

IMG_0738.jpg

IMG_0739.jpg

IMG_0740.jpg

IMG_0741.jpg

IMG_0742.jpg

IMG_0743.jpg

Last edited:
There was a steel support plate that went in front of the controls if I remember right

Yes there is, Does the face plate bracket bolt in from the front side of the bezel or the under side of the dash.

Heres a pic of spare rally dash, I believe its 68. 68 and 9 are very similar. I believe 2 bolts I'm pointing at hold heater controls.

20181229_213848.jpg

Sorry Steve but wrong again. Pic of inst' housing above is 67 model. That left bolt stashed in between fan switch and sliders or buttons was one year only.
68 up had both bolts outboard of controller and a touch higher above its center line. Either or, remove the glove box liner to access. Remove knobs from sliders, center sliders, guide them through the bezel from behind. 3/8 socket with magnetic or sticky something to hold the bolt in it. Short extension and 1/4 drive disc type finger ratchet.

After looking a mine and Steve's bezel, It looks like my housing is from a 67 That looks like one problem I have. Unsure about other issues, Is the housing angle different at the heater control side between a 67 and a 68/69?