Help I have an wiring issue

-

victa15

Reaction score
So I drove my Plymouth across town last night and someone yelled to me and said I had no tail lights or beak like lights. Turns out I don’t have any corner lights either. I have head lights and turn signals. I only have one back turn signal working. The fuse was blown. When I replace it and turn the lights on it blows. I replaced the light switch and that didn’t fix the problem. Looked all over and can’t see any damaged or broken wire. I unhooked the light harness from the back and the fuse still blew. Would it be in the fuse box? Or maybe turn signal switch? I’m not that good at wiring. Anything would be helpful thanks.

I'd say you have an issue with the rear wiring harness or more likely turn signal switch or the harness feeding it

Manually operated switches are always suspect but you'll want to rule out all else first including the tag lamp fixture. Unplug turn and hazard switches to isolate/alleviate the fault.
Turn signal switch more commonly effects brake/turn circuits, blowing those fuses. Hazard may be tied to park lamp fuse ( I don't know ). Good hunting

I had this issue with my Charger once. Found out that when I installed the brake light bulb (which has two hot prongs), one of the 2 connections in the light socket was grounding out against the inside of the socket itself. Kinda hard to explain but the picture might help.

I had this issue with my Charger once. Found out that when I installed the brake light bulb (which has two hot prongs), one of the 2 connections in the light socket was grounding out against the inside of the socket itself. Kinda hard to explain but the picture might help.

Seen that before, and sometimes one of the little springs under the contact plate is broken and laying against the terminal.

To the OP:
Where did the rear harness get disconnected from?
Under the drivers side floor kick panel or carpet?

I disconnected it from behind the kick panel