info for 72 Valiant /6 for road racing

-

mackwagon

Reaction score
I'm a newbie guy here on the A-bodies, and sort of a newbie to A-body Mopars (although I was hauled home from the hospital as a baby in a Plymouth Valiant SW).
I just posted a WTB ad looking for information and parts to build out a 1872 Plymouth Valiant Scamp for 24 hours of Lemons road racing. I know you guys know your stuff, we are looking to tap into that knowledge and find some cheap good solutions to make this thing run good on a track.

Its going to be handling first, so suspension parts and brake parts, then motor /trans reliability. Maybe for the 2nd race we'll be able to afford some go fast parts (GFP).

Thanks - Dan

For the handling look at the hotchkis tvs system, that or RMS alterKation and streetlynx system

Guys,

Thanks for the information, Really truly, thanks. I will be looking at all of that stuff.

But you missed a key point. Its 24 Hours of Lemons. The car plus any money we sink into it to get it running or make it perform better has to TOTAL LESS than $500. we got the car for $75 and we have to fix the burnt wiring to make it run. Meaning we have $425 total to spend. So we are looking for some cheap answers.

That means things like welding a steel plate onto a modified 1BBL manifold so we can run a 2BBL, or chopping two free 1BBL manifolds and carbs to make a 2 x 1BBL set up. Or finding truck springs that fit, in the JY on 1/2 price day, so we can stiffen up the rear springs. Or ????? We want the cheap hack job ideas!!. Please read the Want AD i posted in the parts wanted section first!!

http://www.forabodiesonly.com/mopar/showthread.php?t=165575

Safety: Roll cage, seat, belts, fuel system (prior to carburetor.), brakes, tires, wheels are excluded from the $500 limit. We end up spending about $2500-3K for all of that.

Thanks again.

JMO, you're not gonna get a good race car from something that old for under 500$. Likely the suspension is crapped out and needs a rebuild.