Leaning 340 slugs?

-

HP2

Reaction score
Hi everybody,
Got myself a 71 Duster a couple of years ago, seller had no clue of engine internals or nothing else but I got a good deal and bought it. Haven't had time for it until now.
340", Eddie heads, Torker intake, expensive red dp carb, newer crap MP distributor, Hooker Comp headers... that's what you can see.
Fiber glass hood and bumpers, subframe connectors, full interior, drag radials... Will see mostly short trips and some visits to the 1/8-mile. Stalls around 3,000. Would guess 3.91 gearing. Manual valve body.

When the heads got off I found this. All the pistons are higher on right hand.
They are .010 over the deck on left and .035 over on right hand.
Just gotta ask if someone has seen this before?
I have very little experience from little engines and this is the first 340 I have worked on.

Engine has been run like this, I thought it run like pig so did a comp test and found 150-154 on all cyl except for #1 that had 0. Exhaust pushrod had stamped a hole thru the stamped OEM rocker and intake pushrod was bent. No signs of piston/valve contact (piston on pics) so prolly due to over rev.
I will take it apart and check bearings and everything and give it a quick honing.
Did some measurements and cam should be a MP 292. No signs of wear and lifters also look fine. CL is retarded 4 deg, is that good?
Have a set of 273 rockers that I will use.
Edelbrock heads seems untouched that look fine. Single springs.

340 piston.jpeg

340 piston2.jpg

Is the block square??? (Are the head decks flat???)

Block needs to be squared up and decks equalized. My 383 was .012 off one side to the other. From what I can see, looks to need an overbore while you are at it. torque plates and mains torqued to spec.