Lost the lighting on my dash

-

Kikowillers

Reaction score
Hi folks!

Today I lost the lights on half my rallye dash - not the blinkers, high beam, etc, just the background illumination.

I took the dash out of the car and found that the two bulbs which are not working take power from the same wire/pin. (Please see picture attached)

I then had a look at the conector which plugs into the 3 pins on the back of the dash - this is what I found (see picture).

1 - Pink wire has continuity to ground (blinkers)
2 - Brown wire does not have continuity (maybe the problem?)
3 - Blue wire has continuity to ground (high beam)

I'm not an electrician and to be honest, pretty ignorant about electrics, but it looks to me that the brown wire is at fault somewhere.

So the questions are:

a) Am I going about this the right way?
b) Where does the brown wire come from? In case I need to check for faults...

Cheers!

Attachments

• securedownload.jpg
    132.2 KB · Views: 284
  • securedownload-1.jpg
    165.1 KB · Views: 288
OK , you have 2 seperate boards with 2 illumination bulbs each. Both need the same power supply so there is a wire for each board. I think you have figured out that much.
The power comes from first the headlight switch. Then a fuse marked "park'.
Other lamps such as shift indicator, radio dial, get the same power supply.
So what works and what dont ? If those others dont work the problem probably isn't in the dash itself.
Keep in mind that none of the dash lamps will work while the panel is dangling from the harness connectors. Like most everything else on the car, It needs a chassis ground.
You can attach a temproray ground wire for testing. A perminate ground wire is recommended.

Wait ! Ignore most of my previous post. The pic looks as if the harness connector wires are routed through the wiper linkage.
There are several small things that just dont look right to me.
I think it best that I back away from this one. Good luck though.

Thanks Redfish