my mopar story

-

floivanus

Reaction score
truth be told, I'm relatively new to cars in general. The whole actual love affair started when I met my fiance just a little over 3 years ago, don't get me wrong I always flirted with the romance of muscle, but never had an actual desire to go for it.

Meeting her dad the first time, and Eleanor his 67 ford Galaxie 500, is what got me hooked, really trully stuck in the car game. The alley behind the garage told the tale of how much fun her and her dad shared when they tore down the motor, or the rear-end before, and after breaking them after months of hard abuse.

Growing up in a bowtie family, and having a soft-spot for camaros I always kind of wanted one of my own, and I NEEDED something to compete with Eleanor. When I first got my liscense though, cars of that nature were well in the 30 thousand dollar mark, but soon after being introduced to the real desire to have a car, the banks and economy went belly up and I finally had my chance I scored my first real muscle from a couple that had bought it 5 years earlier for much more than I got it. We traveled by plane to nebraska (from indiana) to get the car and drove her back the whole way.

When we made our way back to indiana, we didn't stop to say hey to my parents, the whole time we were coming home the plan was to stop by and see her dad. Imagine the suprise on his face when I tossed him the keys and asked if he wanted a cruise!

Soon after, we grew closer together and he started telling me stories of his uncle Tron and his 69 superbee, equiped with the 440 six pack, Tron's run-ins with the law, the awesome power of the 440, and the time he drove Tron's car. He was still in awe of that car, even after building his galaxie to over 500 horse.