Napa Part No. Echlin MO-3000

-

TrailBeast

AKA Mopars4us on Youtube
Reaction score
I went to the local Napa Auto Parts store today and asked for this part number, and the guy said "Hm, I don't ever remember selling that part number and I've been doing this for 45 years."
When he looked it up and saw the part, he said it looked like a Dodge, Chrysler, Plymouth rotor and wondered why it was a different part number than he's ever seen before.
I told him that the brass piece on this rotor was .060 longer than the stock rotor and he looked at me weird and said "What? What possible reason would anyone need a rotor with a longer arm on it?"
I explained to him that when you install a GM HEI ignition system using the Mopar factory electronic distributor that you should replace the original with this one to keep the arching across the contacts to a minimum so they burn less and it helps to keep the spark from jumping to places it does'nt belong.
He says "How is it that you know about this?" and I told him most of the information came from FABO and Daniel Stern and that all the good stuff about Mopar A body cars comes from FABO.
He says he has heard the Stern name before, but didn't know who he was and that he was going to have to chk out our site.

Maybe he will, maybe he won't, but it sure was fun to stump a 45 year Napa veteran with his own part numbers.

Attachments

• naparotor.jpg
    16.3 KB · Views: 773
I got the same look at the NAPA store in Douglas. He didn't think that it would make that much of a difference.

It used to be a well know fact that GM V8 rotors (back in the "points" days) were two different lengths. I was told by a Champion spark plug guy that GM actually SHORTENED the rotor to act as a "spark intensifier." He claimed the champion "booster gap" plugs (the old "U" series) came out first, and "GM screwed Champion" by coming out with the short rotor.