Need help for friend who is not going to be around long

-

aengineguy

Reaction score
I really need some suggestions. I am a Mopar guy, but my buddy has a 69 big block Chevelle and I am stumped. It has a Q-jet with automatic. When rolling about 40 mph in 3rd and you barely increase the throttle it starts stumbling and even loses all power until you back off the throttle a bit, not backfiring. The engine was recently went thru, he put a reman Q-jet on from Summit and new Pertronics ignition. I have been doing cars for 50 years, and cannot figure it out. He has Lou Gehrig's disease and is the point he cannot even talk now. We are going to Carlisle this weekend, kind of a bucket list thing. Appreciate any thoughts!

I really need some suggestions. I am a Mopar guy, but my buddy has a 69 big block Chevelle and I am stumped. It has a Q-jet with automatic. When rolling about 40 mph in 3rd and you barely increase the throttle it starts stumbling and even loses all power until you back off the throttle a bit, not backfiring. The engine was recently went thru, he put a reman Q-jet on from Summit and new Pertronics ignition. I have been doing cars for 50 years, and cannot figure it out. He has Lou Gehrig's disease and is the point he cannot even talk now. We are going to Carlisle this weekend, kind of a bucket list thing. Appreciate any thoughts!
Bad carb. Best to swap it out for a known good one and then head for Carlisle.

Not sure I agree at all. Could be a bad fuel pump or restriction in the fuel system causing poor delivery volume, something in the needle seat/ filter or maybe float level was "set" way too low. If you are carefully "feathering" the throttle I would not suspect acellerator pump. If you are suddenly giving it appreciable "pedal" then maybe so. Not enough pump shot