Part throttle/low rpm "bogg/surge"

-
Reaction score
I have sifted through what must be hundreds of threads on low rpm stumbles and have not found any one who has had the same symptoms as me. I am pretty new to tuning carburetors although i have a healthy knowledge of how they work.

The problem appeared after i adjusted the secondary butterflies on my 625 vs "road demon" carb in order to be able to lower the idle to where it needed to be.
Everything was working famously for a few days until i developed a low rpm part throttle, up and down, bog/surge. I have tried re-adjusting the butterflies and tuning the idle mixture screws and have managed to reduce it to being barely noticeable while cruising at 40 mph in 3rd but there is still a very noticeable bog on the low end no matter how much i feather or stomp the gas.

I have also been having issues with my vacuum advance distributor. I have followed MP guidelines for setting mechanical and vacuum advance to equal a total of 55 deg advance. The mechanical advance is all good but i cant turn the vacuum advance down enough to get that total of 55 degrees. As of now i have the vacuum advance attached to the direct manifold vacuum port. Should it be attached to the throttle sensitive port?

My third issue is that at idle in gear with my foot on the brake especially with loads on ex. radio, headlights....etc I'm seriously draining the battery. My ammeter indicates about -10 amps. Idle in N 750 in gear 500.

I have recently replaced the voltage regulator and I'm planning on replacing the alternator. I'm just wondering is this in gear stopped drain normal? I mean even with all loads off in order to break even on draw i would have to set the idle in neutral at 1100 rpm....I have had the battery tested (made sure it was fully charged) and it IS a good battery.

1972 dodge demon
318 factory everything except carb and intake.