Plug change question

-

QWK FSH

Reaction score
I'm not really as much of a wrench rookie as this question implies so don't be to rough on me lol. I'm just one to go into things with as much information as possible.

As you can tell by my post count I am a rookie to this car though. I have a '68 'Cuda with a 440 and Schumacher headers. It looks like the spark plug that's going to be a major pain to change is the passenger side, second one back from the front.

I'm thinking at minimum I'm going to have to remove the alternator. Or, am I going to have raise that side of the motor or both?

Are there any special tools to make this task a little easier?

Thanks!

I'm not really as much of a wrench rookie as this question implies so don't be to rough on me lol. I'm just one to go into things with as much information as possible.

As you can tell by my post count I am a rookie to this car though. I have a '68 'Cuda with a 440 and Schumacher headers. It looks like the spark plug that's going to be a major pain to change is the passenger side, second one back from the front.

I'm thinking at minimum I'm going to have to remove the alternator. Or, am I going to have raise that side of the motor or both?

Are there any special tools to make this task a little easier?

Thanks!

Removing the alternator makes it a lot easier and less things to cut the hands on. I've made up special sockets to handle the drivers bank spark plugs for my 383 with schmachers. Just let your imagination go.

Terry

Removing the alternator makes it a lot easier and less things to cut the hands on. I've made up special sockets to handle the drivers bank spark plugs for my 383 with schmachers. Just let your imagination go.

Terry

Thanks Terry. I'm hoping I don't need to shift the motor up but I'll figure it out!