project '65 Valiant

-

stretch

I cut my cars!
Reaction score
I have been chasing this car for around 10 years now. The Monday after this past Easter I finally caught it. It has been in a barn about 3 miles from my house sense the mid 80's. The Gentleman who owned it had intentions of doing something with it but never got around to it. His is much more focused on his drag cars.

I have known Ed for many years. He has tons of MOPARS and parts cars. He is always willing to help a fellow Mopar man out with parts if he can. He has always liked my charger and that car started a conversation in my shop one afternoon 10 years or so ago. He came in to have some drag slicks changed out, he asked about my charger, I asked about his '66 Coronet drag car combo, and I mentioned I would love to have a '64 to '66 Valiant one day to build and throw my "Hotrod" parts at. (My Charger is all original and I can't bring myself to change that). The next day he returned for his tires and said "I have a '65 Valiant 3 speed car. It's been in my barn for years. Its a rust free Southern car that at my age I will never get to. It's yours for $2500.00".
I had to tell him I couldn't swing it because I was in the middle of remodeling my kitchen. He responded with, "It's your car. Come get it when you can afford it". I would run into him time and time again over the years and ask about it. Tell him I want it but my wife wanted a new bathroom, then we had a daughter, then a son. Well that day finally came and its home.

Hats of to Ed for staying true to his word! Who holds a car that long for a guy starting a family and running through lifes curves like that?

Now for a few pictures of my prize assuming I can figure out how to post them here.

IMG_20170501_184040876 resize.jpg

IMG_20170501_190151878.jpg

IMG_20170501_190213923.jpg

DSCN2604 resize.JPG

IMG_20170501_190307113 resize.jpg

DSCN2607 resize.JPG

Last edited: