Ram 98729 10.00 clutch

-

Hipo65

Yeah I'm "That Guy"
Reaction score
Hey all, im getting parts lined up to install a 65 4-speed in my 65 dart gt with a heathy 273. My qustion is has any of you early a-guys ran or tried this RAM clutch at all? Got all early a parts bell, flywheel & rekated parts. Don't wana halfta go to 10.5 to prevent slippage if at possable. Thanks in advance for advice!

There is a company called "spec" that deals with 9 1/2 inch performance clutch parts. Give them a call.

Thanks fellas. I believe tmm is using the brewers clutch too. He said it seems fine but dont beat the heck out of it eather.

I've had one of these HP 273's almost all my life, and the 10 inch clutch is THE weak link. Standard rebuild will last a month or two. I feel Brewers Performance knows what they are doing, they even include the special pressure plate bolts. I have no experience with RAM. It looks like they both use the 10 scalloped Borg and Beck pressure plate. I have been told they are not a high RPM piece. I'm looking into options, but at this time I have no experience, just some interesting parts. I also want to retain the Original bell housing and linkage, even though I did run a 10.95 clutch behind a truly nasty 273.

I put a RAM clutch in my dads truck years ago, and it still works fine.

Was just on the SPEC website and they have a lot of choices for 65-67 273 powered barracuda. Looks like good stuff and not really expensive.

I have a spare bellhousing for one if you ever need it. south of you in topeka ks.

Was just on the SPEC website and they have a lot of choices for 65-67 273 powered barracuda. Looks like good stuff and not really expensive.

I had researched SPEC and their clutches are for 10.5 applications not 10.0. They do not have a 10.0 or 9.5 that I can see.