Rookie mistake

-

FJ5

Reaction score
Here is a pic of my engine I just finished building. Being a rookie engine builder I was very proud of myself. I think it looks like a work of art.

Now I get to take it all back a part.

I was checking out hughes engine web site from a link about spark plugs. There I saw a picture of the instruction sheet from my Keith Black HU pistons. I notice in the picture that there is a left and right side. I failed to notice this when I was putting the engine together. So I go back and check the photos that I was forunate enough to take and sure enough, all mixed up. Exhaust and intake relief are in the wrong positions. Rookie effing mistake. UGGH!!!View attachment image.jpg

Eventhough I'm pissed with myself I'm relieved I did catch it before I fired it up and caused major damage.

You didn't check valce to piston clearance when assembling the motor?

x3 Better now than later.

Engine looks Real good.
good luck on Your re rebuild.
mine engine is still in pieces, hopefully I get it back from machinists next week

At least you didn't start if up.
If you had, this [ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rTlH2KppTw0&feature=youtu.be"]2013 12 11 16 50 48 580 - YouTube[/ame] is exactly how it would have sounded. Exactly................

The REAL rookie mistake wouldda been bustin it off like that. You made an experienced rookie mistake. Good catch. Now all you are out is time and gaskets.