Rust Converter/Encapsulator

-

MoparGirl

Reaction score
Has anyone ever used One Step Rust Killer by Interstate Products? It is advertised as a rust converter that can be applied by brush, roller, or sprayed. I'm considering using it in a sprayer as a converter/primer. It seems to be similar to products such as POR 15 by Eastwood but about half the price.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Pam

Hi MoparGirl,

I've been using Marhyde One Step on my 72' Duster and it works great. I used it in the trunk area and under the hood where I had some rust starting to develop. I'm also using it on old parts I'm cleaning up for my project.

Use a wire brush first to get the bulk of the scale off then hit the surface with some kind of solvent to clean the dust off. Then just paint it on (spray or brush). Use it in a well-ventilated area and where some rubber gloves.

http://www.bondo.com/catalog_item.asp?itemNbr=298

I am not an expert with this stuff, but I am taking an Auto Body Repair and Paint course at our local community College and my instructor recommended One Step for my project. He has about 25 years experience in the business and see's a lot of old car restorations, so I think he knows what he's doing.

Just follow the directions and definitely heed all warnings and cautions (see website link above).

Good Luck,

Hi MoparGirl,

I've been using Marhyde One Step on my 72' Duster and it works great. I used it in the trunk area and under the hood where I had some rust starting to develop. I'm also using it on old parts I'm cleaning up for my project.

Use a wire brush first to get the bulk of the scale off then hit the surface with some kind of solvent to clean the dust off. Then just paint it on (spray or brush). Use it in a well-ventilated area and where some rubber gloves.

http://www.bondo.com/catalog_item.asp?itemNbr=298