Some General questions.

-

Mike P 52

Reaction score
Hi I just joined so I'm a FNG here. I'm in the process of collecting information for a future swap. I'm looking at putting a Gen 1 HEMI (354 CI) in a late 60s-Mid 70s A body (long story). I've been building cars for many years so this swap is not beyond my capabilities. This car will serve as my daily driver and may occasionally be used to drive cross country (4000 mile round trip vacations). Plans call for a 46RH transmission and 8 3/4 rear end. I realize this is the BB forum, but I suspect I might find some answers here so thanks in advance.

My questions are; what are you guys using for torsion bars......the Hemi/46 RH combination will likely he a bit heavier than a 440/727 combo but close enough to work.

Are any of you using a front sway bar and who makes a good one for the weight?

I'm also looking at super stock springs for the rear (I've used the SS springs before and am aware of how stiff they are). Are there other options?

What 8 3/4" rears fit.

I realize this last question is a long-shot, but does anyone have experience putting a 46 RH into an A body (yeah I know they are SB bolt pattern). What transmission tunnel interference issues did you run into?

Does any one know of any threads on the site where someone has put a Gen 1 Hemi in an A body.

Again thanks in advance.

My questions are; what are you guys using for torsion bars......the Hemi/46 RH combination will likely he a bit heavier than a 440/727 combo but close enough to work.
Viewing a thread - 354 weight
looks like it is 50lbs heavier than 440

What 8 3/4" rears fit.
all A-Body 66 to 76 8 3/4 fit 66 to 76 A bodies as bolt in (watch bolt pattern A body typically have 5x4" pattern (except Later models 73 or 74???? and newer????, basically when they went to 8 1/4 rear and it went to 5x4.5")