Starter Removal

-

clifhenning

Reaction score
I guess this is where this should go...

I can't for the life of me remove the starter on my '69 Valiant with a 273 V8. I took off the wires, bottom nut, and took out the top bolt and my understanding is that it should just come off without a problem. Mine's not budging. I tried placing a board on the otherside and hitting a few times with a mallet, not helping.

Any ideas?

I'm betting you removed the lowermost BLOCK bolt instead of the topmost starter bolt.
If it seemed "too easy" to remove, you probably did as I said above.

The top bolt is basically a real mother to get to with sockets, (a swivel or wobbly really helps) but comes out okay with a 5/8" box end wrench, though slowly.

Mark.`

I cut a 5/8 spanner in half and got in there with that. Its a pig to get out mind if the cars got the stock exhaust in place!!

Ahh, thanks. I'm pretty sure that I got the right one, but I'll check again. I'm new to A-bodies and LA engines... previous cars were a '95 Neon and a '99 Wrangler. ;)

But thanks! I'll surely check it out when I get the time to work on my car again. The exhaust is all out because I'm trying to get a set of Hooker Headers in, but I have power steering... ;)

Be glad that you have a 67- newer Abody. ;)

I used a 3 foot extension, plus another 9 inch,
and a 5/8 socket to get the top bolt.

Also, I had to have the steering loose to turn the pitman arm
out of the way to lower the starter when done.

I installed a "Dakota" smaller starter, much easier,
weighs half the old style, And cranks over the engine faster. :thumblef:

Ok, finally got the chance to check it out again, and I certainly got the right bolts out...
Something about it is weird. On the bottom bolt, all I had to do was remove a nut, not the bolt. Is it supposed to be that way?

I do have the exhaust off right now, and used a shorty 5/8" box end wrench, so it wasn't difficult at all.