Suggestions on which plugs to go with

-

Rude72*

Reaction score
Hello all...

I am going to buy some new plugs for my '72 Duster 340. I am quite the novice here, so I was looking for a little guidance. The specs for my car are listed below. That's about the extent of what I know regarding the car's motor, trans and rear end. Suggestions for plugs? Anyone running a similar setup? Many thanks!

-Correct Vintage 340 block bored .030 over.

-TRW forged pistons & Speed Pro Piston Rings-Compression 11:1

-Mopar Performance Purple Shaft Cam P4120235

-Performance Electronic Ignition with chrome box and Accel Super Coit

-340 heads rebuilt with new Valves, hardened valve seats and 3 angle vale job

-Hooker Comp Headers with Jet Hot coating mated to 2.5" exhaust with cross pipe and Flowmaster Mufflers

-Holley 750 Carb atop Edelbrock Torker I| Intake manifold with K&N Air Filter

-Mechanical Holley Fuel Pump on engine as well as secondary Holley Electric

-Fuel pump located near fuel tank and operated by switch in cabin

-3 row radiator with overflow bottle and Mopar Performance Viscous

-3.23 gears (switching to 3:91 gears soon)

-11:1 compression

-Mopar 727-A automatic transmission

-3200RPM Stahl Speed Trans Specialty Converter

-

Why's that? Do they foul easily, have poor life? What do you suggest for 11:1 compression?
I was being facetious. You will find spark plug threads will usually have someone trashing every brand of plug by the end of it.

I like NGK and Champion plugs in my junk. I’ve been running Champion N9YC in my Commando 273 which is 10.5:1 and they were a big improvement over the autolite that came out(same heat range).

Whichever plug you choose, carefully inspect each plug, and verify the gap before you install it.

I have run the Champion RN9Yc in my 340s for 45 years. Are they the best. Who knows. It they were the factory plug Chrysler chose to put in them. Yes I have tried others but always went back to Champion. Your results may very. Kim