Thermoquad identification help!

-

73drtsport

Reaction score
Hi there, I recently picked up a TQ and id love to rebuild/get it rebuilt professionally. I've been searching threads, forums, and elsewhere on the web trying to figure out what year it is and basically the basics of it. It's got 1.5 inch primaries so pretty sure it's an 850 but I'm new to these beautiful creations! I'll post some pics I know there's some gurus here that will know more than I! The two numbers stamped on the back driver corner are 9117s and 22977. I'm really just curious if it's a good one worth rebuilding? Id like to put it on my 360 paired with an rpm air gap. Running a Hughes cam .540 lift and comp roller rockers/push rods. Thanks!

20200415_201436.jpg

20200415_201448.jpg

20200415_201458.jpg

20200415_201507.jpg

20200415_201512.jpg

20200415_201519.jpg

Hi there, I recently picked up a TQ and id love to rebuild/get it rebuilt professionally. I've been searching threads, forums, and elsewhere on the web trying to figure out what year it is and basically the basics of it. It's got 1.5 inch primaries so pretty sure it's an 850 but I'm new to these beautiful creations! I'll post some pics I know there's some gurus here that will know more than I! The two numbers stamped on the back driver corner are 9117s and 22977. I'm really just curious if it's a good one worth rebuilding? Id like to put it on my 360 paired with an rpm air gap. Running a Hughes cam .540 lift and comp roller rockers/push rods. Thanks!

View attachment 1715509574

View attachment 1715509575

View attachment 1715509576

View attachment 1715509577

View attachment 1715509578

View attachment 1715509579
78 Smog 440 carb. I have a 74 360 thermoquad available if you’re interested.

Jake

78 Smog 440 carb. I have a 74 360 thermoquad available if you’re interested.

Oh copy, from what I've read the smog ones aren't quite as desirable. I picked it up for $75 bucks so I figured it was a pretty good deal. Is your 74 an 850cfm?