Timing Mark on Cam Gear 180* off

-

wheelz 63 dart gt

Reaction score
I tried to set the timing at tdc. I took my timing cover off and took out all the plugs, and put my compression tester in #1. I turned her over by and and every time i built up compression I would look at my marks and my crank gear mark was in the right spot , but my cam gear mark was exactly 180* off. So i put my piston stop in to make sure i was at tdc and i was. I looked very close at my cam gear and it looked like someone tried to make a halfass punch mark where it shuld be lined up. Im guessing who ever rebuilt this motor knew that the timing marks were 180* off. I dont ``know why else they would be. That explains the carb popping and no start my first time trying to start her. i am starting over. now i have to det the ignition timing. Can some one tell me how to check my points. I am new to Vintage technology. Thanks

I tried to set the timing at tdc. I took my timing cover off and took out all the plugs, and put my compression tester in #1. I turned her over by and and every time i built up compression I would look at my marks and my crank gear mark was in the right spot , but my cam gear mark was exactly 180* off. So i put my piston stop in to make sure i was at tdc and i was. I looked very close at my cam gear and it looked like someone tried to make a halfass punch mark where it shuld be lined up. Im guessing who ever rebuilt this motor knew that the timing marks were 180* off. I dont ``know why else they would be. That explains the carb popping and no start my first time trying to start her. i am starting over. now i have to det the ignition timing. Can some one tell me how to check my points. I am new to Vintage technology. Thanks

With the cam at 6 and the crank at 12 the engine will be at #6 firing not #1.

Hope that helps !