Transmission Tailstock Bearing Play

-

jpikaart

Reaction score
I have a vibration in my 1972 Duster at 45 MPH. One of the items I have noticed in my analysis of the issue is that there is some movement of the yoke at the end of the transmission tail stock.

Does anyone know what amount of movement is normal?

I had the same problem with my 69' bee and had play at the Tailshaft bushing
replaced it and problem gone. Not sure of the clearance tolerance though

As in Cudascott's car you'll most likely find the issue is a worn extension housing bushing, not the output shaft bearing. Output shaft bearings can go bad but what stabilizes the yoke is the bushing at the end of the extension housing. I have been rebuilding torqueflite's for over 30 yrs. and have never seen a spec as to how much clearance there should be but IMO it shouldn't be much.

What all have you checked/done to try to eliminate the vibrations? Original driveshaft or aftermarket? Can you feel the vibration in the steering wheel, seat of the pants, or both?

I bought the car about three months ago and was aware that there was a vibration. So far I have had tires spin balanced (off the car). In doing this we found two rims and one tire that had runout. I replaced the rims and tire, but vibration is still there.

This week, I'll have the tail shaft bearing replaced as there is noticeable play.

The vibration kicks in at approx 45 MPH and stays there up to to 70, i haven't taken it faster. The vibration stays when I shift to neutral and let engine return to idle.

I'm not sure on the driveshaft whether its original or aftermarket. I've asked PO for more history, but so far not much has come. The car was used as a drag strip vehicle, but, I know that rear axle is 1973 or later as it has 5 * 4 1/2" BC axles and disc brakes up front.

When the car is in for the tailshaft bushing; I'll check for U joint phasing. There was no noticeable play in the U joints.