Transporting to and fron Canada?

-

dusterdood

The Duster Guy
Reaction score
What all is involved? I've got a few people interested in My duster, but they're over there. I'm really close to the border, but am a complete newbe to the crossing of it. Anyone know for certain what it takes?
Mike

I'm Canadian. I almost purchased a car in Michigan. It's not that big of a deal. Most of the onus is on the purchaser. This link has good info http://www.canadiandriver.com/articles/mj/import.htm . U.S customs requires the vehicle information is faxed to them about 72 hours in advance of bringing the vehicle to Canada.

Basically, you just need to give the purchaser info required for U.S. customs.

I'm Canadian. I almost purchased a car in Michigan. It's not that big of a deal. Most of the onus is on the purchaser. This link has good info http://www.canadiandriver.com/articles/mj/import.htm . U.S customs requires the vehicle information is faxed to them about 72 hours in advance of bringing the vehicle to Canada.

Basically, you just need to give the purchaser info required for U.S. customs.
Bought two cars from the us last year. You are actually required to leave them with us customs for 72 hours for exporting and then import into canada. I did not export them as canada customs does not require you to export but if I take the cars back to the us and the us customs checks and finds that these cars were not exported you could possibly have to pay the export fee at that time.

Not to hijack this thread but..........i have a question.Im in Alaska,planning on driving down to idaho next summer. Is there a hassle or problem trailering a car back to Alaska? Do I need special paperwork? Is a signed over title enough to get past the border from the U.S. into Canada and back out of Canada into Alaska?

I believe you check in at canada customs and get a green card with the vin number of the vehicle and this is what you will show when you come back though canada.