vinyl top or not

-

TheTecher

Evan the jeeper.
Reaction score
My 68 cuda was originally a vinyl top car. Today was about 60 degrees outside and I took about a half of an inch of bondo off the upper quarter panel. What I found under the bondo was a braze weld seam and a few small holes. Its a pretty sloppy weld job. (Ill include pictures later) I was planning to not go with the vinyl top and keep it as a hard top but this might change me. What do you guys think? Should I try to fix this or hide it with the top. I have never done a vinyl top before, is it hard to do?

Thanks for any help

Evan

I like the vinyl tops, I have them on 3 of my cars, all original, I think they look nice, plus, less paint to wax!!!!

I used to not like vinyl tops at all...In fact, I hated them...BUT now I'm actually starting to like them, and I'm thinking about installing a black one on my dart, IF I decide to paint it red...lol

My car came with one and it did it damage. But I also love the look of a vinyl top. If you dont like stripes and hood blackouts then it is a way to break up the color.

If the car came with a vinyl top you should put one on.

I've hated them for years and years.....but mostly because I know the damage they do to the metal underneath, and especially around the windows. However, I'm starting to warm up to them again.....lol....after 30 years.

I guess on a garaged car that won't see much moisture, it's not such a bad thing. Plus, it looks so retro.......cool. I like yellow cars with black or white tops and blue cars with white tops......red with black......nice contrasts.

It was burgundy with a white top, I like the idea of a black top.

Thanks for all of the help
Evan

What do you guys think about using spray on truck bed liner instead of the vinyl. My boss plans to do it on his 70' chvelle, and I was just looking through a year catolog and saw that they were selling it a page from their tops.

Evan