welder/welding

-
I am self-taught, which means I don't know much. I have a Hobart Handler 140 with 75/25 gas. I recently discovered that I was running the wire WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYY to fast. Slowed it down and things look much better. BUT, I still have hands that are NOT steady. I have to hold the gun with both hands (one out toward the tip) to even have a chance at going straight not shaking. Then, there is the whole vision thing. The auto-darkening helmet helps with starting position, but not so much following a line. I'm probably getting cataract surgery sooner than later so that might help. And, then the fact that I'll weld quite a bit for a week or two and then the welder sits for several months before I have something new to weld.

On the trailer……..
I would weld it with a 6010 rod.
I would also add some gussets to stiffen it up.
I agree that stick would be a good option for structural stuff, but you were replying to RAT ROD AL's comment when he said to try 75/25. I believe he was replying to the OP's post and had nothing to do with the trailer repair. Slight miscommunication I think.

I am self-taught, which means I don't know much. I have a Hobart Handler 140 with 75/25 gas. I recently discovered that I was running the wire WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYY to fast. Slowed it down and things look much better. BUT, I still have hands that are NOT steady. I have to hold the gun with both hands (one out toward the tip) to even have a chance at going straight not shaking. Then, there is the whole vision thing. The auto-darkening helmet helps with starting position, but not so much following a line. I'm probably getting cataract surgery sooner than later so that might help. And, then the fact that I'll weld quite a bit for a week or two and then the welder sits for several months before I have something new to weld.
Have you tried one of these? There's no way I'd go back to unmagnified vision
lens.jpg