what heads to run on a 273

-

Youngthrill

69 GT
Reaction score
so i had my block boiled and board out .30 over..stock crank and using
egge dome pistons....

what can i do with the heads? i need bigger ports..does anyone know of a good flowing head out there for this little beast?..

i would prefer to use my the heads and cut cost but whats the biggest valve i can run? what to port them out to?do 318 heads fit on these 273??

thanks fabo!!:D

A set of 302 casting heads would do wonders for that motor.

a little more info im a bit new to this mopar stuff..were can i buy some or what im a looking for when i ask?..mopar is very addictive!! im glad im still able to drive my 69 gt while this block sits on the stand want to finish sooner than later..any out there with some aggresive 273 combos..help and input are welcomed !!302 im interested

302 casting heads are found on late 80s 318s. They feature a swirl port design and just the right size valves for your engine. I'd also recommend an Edelbrock preformer intake (not the rpm version) for your car. If you do a quick search using the search feature on the site, you'll find tons of info on the 302 heads.
Also the 273 and to an extent the 318 are more costly to build, it's cheaper to throw a 360 or stroke it to a 408 less and make more power doing it.
Not that I'm trying to sway you against the 273 but other will throw that info out there.

Yep, 70 Duster is correct. 302 casting heads are a good choice for the small bore 273. They have a bit larger ports that flow good and have a heart shaped combustion chamber that is relatively the same size as the stock 273 heads so you won't loose compression. They also have hardened seats so they're unleaded gas friendly. Mopar used them in the mid to late 80's 318's found in Diplomats and Le Barons (M Bodies) (from Mopar Muscle article)