67 Barracuda front suspension

-

67/6barracuda

FABO Gold Member
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
Hello folks,
Im getting started on my front suspension. I figured id throw up a few pics and post with the intent that you guys can give me a few tricks of the trade as I go along busting knuckles. This is my first time messing with my completely worn out suspension. I gathered some new 1.03 PST torsion bars, Moog k-7040 strut bushings, rebuilt UCA and LCA. I already snapped one of my upper control arm cam adjuster bolts. Ive only got as far as lowering the LCA torsion bar adjuster bolts. Then hit everthing with some WD40 and PB Blaster with any luck I dont go snapping anything else.
new suspensionjpg.jpg

driverside suspension rebuild.jpg

Driverside cam adjusting nut.jpg

Just be careful with the new cam bolts. There's a bunch running around that don't have the flat cut far enough down the bolt, which causes the eccentrics to bottom out on the bolt before they tighten on the UCA mounts.

Got all my new suspension button up. I took the lazy way out and used a cut off wheel to get the old worn slant T-bars out. Everything went together well upper/lower control arms and PST T-Bars. Noticed one of my outer tie rods had excessive play. This snow balled into a hassle. First I bought new MOOG outers. So I thought, turns out I got one inner and one outer. No problem I continued to drive on. Well the ball joints are fused to the tie rod sleeves I soaked them with WD-40 no luck getting them to budge. So i decided to spend the money on the aluminum sleeves from PST $59 later. They don't seem to work with the Moog ball Joints; excessive play seems like the tolerance are off with the thread pitch. Probably should keep all brand specific with Moog ES319L's, ES319R's, and the ES319S sleeves. I think it will fit better in the end. Too bad because these PST sleeves are pretty nice.
PST Sleeves.jpg