8 3/4 guru need your help

-

crazy 340

Reaction score
like I said in an other treads I just bought a 727 with a transbrake in it with a 8'' 5000 rpm stall

now I spoke to a friend and he told me my 83/4 will never gonna be able to hold with my set up could it be true I alwais love the 8 3/4 dif
and have 3 gears that goes with it

I already have bears axles in
what do you suggest to make it stronger

thanks Bob

Back brace and if you have the 489 center section use a solid pinion sleeve instead of the crush sleeve.

IS this a street car ? solid and crush sleeve aren't the problem with the 8.75, solid does nothing for strength

Yep--Supershaft is on it--Slicks????? or street tires????? if slicks and a trans break,dropping the hammer at 4000 could get interesting on 8-3/4. Steve

I am no expert but I have seen 8 3/4 rears back braced with carrier cap reinforcement studs built in to the brace. Don't know how much stronger it makes the bearing caps but when they fail it is real ugly.

yup any real hp in a car thats not 2000lbs and gets traction isnt gonna take long to kill the 8 3/4. its the shock and deflection that does it.

You need the AL thru bolt housing if your making good power, then you are ok, but they don't like street use.

Everyone will dis-agree with this. I only know this from experience in my 600 HP,3300 lb Duster, Grinner Brake,Ladder bar and 14 X 32's.If you run the 742 case (not 489), along with a back brace, it will live.The only thing is, as you know they don't make the Pro Gears any more. I always had better luck with the street gears, and ran them any way.Only thing is, about every 2 years, depending on how much you run it,the ring gear will start to chip at the outer edge of the gear.Just check it yearly, and add new ring and pinions.
I also never broke a pinion, but everyone will tell you the tappered one is stronger with crush sleve eliminator. This may be true, but none of us had any problems.