Balancing a Scat cast crank

-

Valkman

Reaction score
I'm building a 408 with a Scat cast stroker crank, Procomp rods, Icon forged pistons in a 360 block. I took the components to the machine shop along with a standard 318/340 harmonic balancer because its supose to be internally balanced to get it all balanced. The shop is telling me that they need to use an external balancer or they will have to put a lot off mallory in the crank to get it balanced. Has anyone else run into this problem?

I think that is the case with a cast crank, tho I'm not an expert. wait for somebody else to chime in.

It all depends on Bob weight. How does summit know what the Bob weight will be?
Most of the time there isn't enough mass in the counter weights of a cast crank to keep it internal balance.

I'd trust the machine shop. BTW, this is why I tell people to spend the money for a steel crank. If you do make it internal with Mallory, you'll eat up most of the savings anyway.

At this point, I'd leave it external and run it.

It all depends on Bob weight. How does summit know what the Bob weight will be?
Most of the time there isn't enough mass in the counter weights of a cast crank to keep it internal balance.

I'd trust the machine shop. BTW, this is why I tell people to spend the money for a steel crank. If you do make it internal with Mallory, you'll eat up most of the savings anyway.

At this point, I'd leave it external and run it.

it doesn't really bother if it needs to be external, this a street motor, but I just to make sure what I'm getting is right.

It depends on the rods and pistons you are using. The SCAT cranks are designed to internal balance with a bobweight below a certain limit. If your bobweight (which depends mostly on the piston and rod weights) is too high, then it won't balance internally without mallory or external weights. In fact, the catalog states for this crankshaft "Internal Balance, May Require Mallory". See here , on page 18 at the bottom: