[FOR SALE] Charging system wire around 6 or 8ga

Mopar Exterior Parts For Sale

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies due to lack of activity. Consider opening a new thread instead.
  1. crackedback

    crackedback FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    18,562
    Likes Received:
    2871
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    92201
    Local Time:
    12:46 AM
    Contact Seller
    Charge system bulkhead wire around. The idea is to remove the bulkhead connectors and resistance in the circuit from the charging wires. I have two set ups available. One is 6ga wire with 10ga fusible link, the other is an 8ga wire with a 12ga fusible link. The 8ga wiring solution would be OK for alternators up to about 90 amps. The 6ga would be OK to about 120 amps in most situations. Most of the time the alternator is not providing maximum output. I do my best to make the wire black from end to end. I can place red shrink at the ends to remind that it is a hot + wire.

    Example of the 6ga wire used. It's great wire that is very flexible and hides nicely in the OEM harness tabs..
    UXKgciv.jpg

    6ga example in red. I no longer use the red wire for this item.
    6ga_wire_around1-jpg-jpg.jpg

    8ga wire around
    wire-20around-jpg-jpg.jpg

    I use as much US sourced wire as possible. It's getting tougher to find US sourced fusible link.

    Wire set ups are $30-40 depending on length + shipping from Indio, CA
    I do provide discounts for customer loyalty and multiple items purchased at same time.

    PM here or email to robule1 at yahoo dot com

    Thanks for the ad space.

    Rob
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2020
    • Like Like x 1
    • 318MoparGuy

      318MoparGuy MoparHokie

      Messages:
      249
      Likes Received:
      77
      Joined:
      Jun 27, 2013
      Location:
      Waynesville,NC
      Local Time:
      3:46 AM
      I did the 8 gauge with fusible link on my 73 Dart Swinger and it really took the electrical load off of my headlight switch and bulkhead connectors. Rob really does excellent work and uses quality materials in the construction of his wire arounds. I highly recommend this upgrade to your electrical system for all our Mopars. I also purchased Rob’s headlight relay kit...a very easy plug and play install and the headlights on the old girl are much brighter and no dimming at idle. I wish he made more products for our cars and he stands behind all his stuff. A great FABO member!!!! THANKS ROB.
      318MG
       
      • Like Like x 3
      • crackedback

        crackedback FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        18,562
        Likes Received:
        2871
        Joined:
        Aug 7, 2005
        Location:
        92201
        Local Time:
        12:46 AM
        Thanks for the positive comments and great to read it's performing to your expectations. Appreciate the patronage!
         
      • Heywodja

        Heywodja The Heartbeat Stops Here. FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        510
        Likes Received:
        153
        Joined:
        Aug 16, 2014
        Location:
        Texas
        Local Time:
        2:46 AM
        Does this eliminate / bypass the ammeter?

        I really like the battery cables you made me , I have one of those power master alternators to install and I will be running a efi setup too.. is the 8ga the way to go?
         
      • crackedback

        crackedback FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        18,562
        Likes Received:
        2871
        Joined:
        Aug 7, 2005
        Location:
        92201
        Local Time:
        12:46 AM
        It is part of bypassing the ammeter.

        Depending on Amp output of alternator. I'd run a 6ga for anything over an 75-80 amp unit.
         
      • famous bob

        famous bob mopar misfit FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        16,614
        Likes Received:
        6389
        Joined:
        Aug 14, 2011
        Location:
        okla
        Local Time:
        2:46 AM
        Sounds like I need to go to a heavier wire !
        I dont have any trouble w/ anything , except hot starts , never starts on the first turn of the key , but hit it quick a second time and it fires up . ??????????????????
        any ideas ? Been this way since day one , scares me , but hasnt failed me yet .--????????????
         
      • Heywodja

        Heywodja The Heartbeat Stops Here. FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        510
        Likes Received:
        153
        Joined:
        Aug 16, 2014
        Location:
        Texas
        Local Time:
        2:46 AM
        I will message you for cost
         
      • famous bob

        famous bob mopar misfit FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        16,614
        Likes Received:
        6389
        Joined:
        Aug 14, 2011
        Location:
        okla
        Local Time:
        2:46 AM
        ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ANYONE ??
         
      • crackedback

        crackedback FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        18,562
        Likes Received:
        2871
        Joined:
        Aug 7, 2005
        Location:
        92201
        Local Time:
        12:46 AM
        The wire around doesn't do anything for starting the car.

        Maybe larger cables on the starter? That could help if it doesn't crank easily, both pos and neg.

        @famous bob
         
      • famous bob

        famous bob mopar misfit FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        16,614
        Likes Received:
        6389
        Joined:
        Aug 14, 2011
        Location:
        okla
        Local Time:
        2:46 AM
        WAS THINKING THAT ALSO ------THANKS !
         
      • barracudadave67

        barracudadave67 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        1,162
        Likes Received:
        482
        Joined:
        May 22, 2004
        Location:
        Burlington, Wi.
        Local Time:
        2:46 AM
        PM sent
        Dave
         
      • 65Val

        65Val Average Length Member

        Messages:
        5,070
        Likes Received:
        1042
        Joined:
        Oct 14, 2005
        Location:
        Victoria, BC, Canada, EH!
        Local Time:
        12:46 AM
        Rob...where does this actually connect in the car ('67 Dart)...I'm a total idiot when it comes to auto wiring (actually hate it!), so can you explain what this does, and where it goes, to me in dumb-speak please? Thanks!
         
      • crackedback

        crackedback FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        18,562
        Likes Received:
        2871
        Joined:
        Aug 7, 2005
        Location:
        92201
        Local Time:
        12:46 AM
        @65Val

        Connects at alternator charge stud and starter relay stud.

        Carries the majority of any battery required amp charge load. Takes that load off the bulkhead, normal charge path back to battery.
         
        • Like Like x 1
        • 65Val

          65Val Average Length Member

          Messages:
          5,070
          Likes Received:
          1042
          Joined:
          Oct 14, 2005
          Location:
          Victoria, BC, Canada, EH!
          Local Time:
          12:46 AM
          OK, thanks Rob...that makes sense to me.
           
        • crackedback

          crackedback FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

          Messages:
          18,562
          Likes Received:
          2871
          Joined:
          Aug 7, 2005
          Location:
          92201
          Local Time:
          12:46 AM
          No problem. Have plenty of materials for both 6ga and 8 ga set ups on the way.
           
        • RustyRatRod

          RustyRatRod Bla de blizhibliz de blatde blizi bla bla FABO Gold Member

          Messages:
          60,900
          Likes Received:
          32599
          Joined:
          Jun 7, 2010
          Location:
          Georgia
          Local Time:
          3:46 AM
          Rob, can this be used while keeping the bulkhead connector and ammeter they way the came? Is there any benefit?
           
        • crackedback

          crackedback FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

          Messages:
          18,562
          Likes Received:
          2871
          Joined:
          Aug 7, 2005
          Location:
          92201
          Local Time:
          12:46 AM
          This renders the Ammeter inefective. You can leave the ammeter if you like, I always bypass it.

          I always suggest leave all the OEM wiring in place and bypass ammeter.
           
        • RustyRatRod

          RustyRatRod Bla de blizhibliz de blatde blizi bla bla FABO Gold Member

          Messages:
          60,900
          Likes Received:
          32599
          Joined:
          Jun 7, 2010
          Location:
          Georgia
          Local Time:
          3:46 AM
          Well mine actually WORKS, so I am leaving it be until it doesn't. I've inspected the firewall connector and it looks fine. Course this car is all stock so there's "that".
           
          • Like Like x 1
          • QuickDart360

            QuickDart360 Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            1,150
            Likes Received:
            406
            Joined:
            Apr 5, 2014
            Location:
            San Antonio
            Local Time:
            2:46 AM
            Cool! So you installed wire bypass and ammeter still works? I am strongly considering doing this for peace of mind in my dart sport soon! So you just added this without modifying anything? If so I like this idea even more!!:)
             
          • barracudadave67

            barracudadave67 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

            Messages:
            1,162
            Likes Received:
            482
            Joined:
            May 22, 2004
            Location:
            Burlington, Wi.
            Local Time:
            2:46 AM
            On my 69 B-Cuda, all I did was connct the wire to the alternator out put wire, (the big terminal) followed the wires over to the starter relay, and connected it up there. I had already bypassed the amp gage. Headlights do not dim.
            Installation took 1/2 hour.
            Dave
             
          • RustyRatRod

            RustyRatRod Bla de blizhibliz de blatde blizi bla bla FABO Gold Member

            Messages:
            60,900
            Likes Received:
            32599
            Joined:
            Jun 7, 2010
            Location:
            Georgia
            Local Time:
            3:46 AM
            No I was saying my ammeter is a good one. It works now. Since it does work, I am not going to get the bypass wire.
             
            • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
            • crackedback

              crackedback FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

              Messages:
              18,562
              Likes Received:
              2871
              Joined:
              Aug 7, 2005
              Location:
              92201
              Local Time:
              12:46 AM
              Thanks for the purchases and I have plenty of materials right now for kits. Both 6 and 8 GA.

              Rob
               
            • RustyRatRod

              RustyRatRod Bla de blizhibliz de blatde blizi bla bla FABO Gold Member

              Messages:
              60,900
              Likes Received:
              32599
              Joined:
              Jun 7, 2010
              Location:
              Georgia
              Local Time:
              3:46 AM
              Since you brought this back up to the top, I have a question. Forgive me if I've asked before, my forgetter works full time now. Is there someone who converts these ammeters to volt meters? I don't give a crap if it reads numbers. I can relate to it with the "D" and the "C". I'm just wondering is someone can basically stick a volt meter on the back of the stock face?
               
            • crackedback

              crackedback FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

              Messages:
              18,562
              Likes Received:
              2871
              Joined:
              Aug 7, 2005
              Location:
              92201
              Local Time:
              12:46 AM
              Yes, redline does it.

              Lots of home builder guys have used some of the small voltemeters and installed them in the original clusters. If you search here or FBBO, there are some threads on the process.
               
            • QuickDart360

              QuickDart360 Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              1,150
              Likes Received:
              406
              Joined:
              Apr 5, 2014
              Location:
              San Antonio
              Local Time:
              2:46 AM
              I have a question. Mr heaterbox another cluster/gauge restorer claims that they fireproof the ammeter gauge. In a pic they solder/sauter the threaded studs so there is no threat of fire according to them. Is this something that sounds reasonable or better yet believable?
               
            Thread Status:
            Not open for further replies due to lack of activity. Consider opening a new thread instead.
            1. This site uses cookies to help personalize content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
              By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.