Compression

-

mrhollywood

Reaction score
What should the stock compression be on my slant 225? I'll be doing the compression on my car for the first time tomorrow .I've never done it before and I'm assuming it can be done with one person?

Well this doesn't sound good....... here's what I got 1-45 2-45 3-45 4-60 5-0 6-0. Any ideas?

Burned/bent valves or skipped timing chain with those readings.

A blown head gasket between 5 and 6 is a possibility.

All your numbers are low though. Was the engine warm and did you hold the throttle and choke open? Also, how many crank revolution per test. It can take at least three revolutions to build to full pressure.

You should test once and then a second time after adding a few squirts of oil into the cylinder. If compression increases more than about 10psi when adding oil it indicates warn out rings. If compression stays close to the same, then valves.

A leak down test would be the next step. But if you don't have a leak down tester you can do a poor man's test. If you can rig up a fitting to apply compressed air to the cylinder then you can listen for where the air is escaping. Oil cap = rings, tail pipe = exhaust valve, carb = intake valve.

I've also read that if an engine has been sitting a long time the rings can get stuck. If so, then running it for a while might free them up.

It was warmed up.also I cranked the engine over three times per cylinder. My gut feeling is timing chain and head gasket.

Dat ***** has jumped time. Does it even run?

I was thinking the cranking PSI should be about 100... Maybe that's not new though.