Daily driver advice...

-

Dart_Guy

Reaction score
Here is the problem... I have been driving my 96 cherokee for 3 years. it is the longest I ever drove a vehicle so I am gettign itchy. (it was paid for from day one so I have not had a payment in years)

Option one:
Lift the cherokee to make it more fun to drive. Not a measly budget boost. I am talking 8 inches with 36 in tires. New axles and all.
Cons of Jeep: it has rust... I am going to crawl under it this weekend and diagnos the extent of rust.

Option two:
Sell the cherokee and buy a mid 60's D100 and fix it while I drive it. My commute is pretty short so I hardly add miles to a vehicle. It would be fun to drive and work on it. I have seen them come and go for what I can sell my Jeep for.

My wife has a reliable vehicle, so no worries as far as having a daily driver that may have problems...

Am I a fool wanting to do this while I still have a dart in the garage that takes a lot of my time? And my Jeep runs great with 150,000 on a 4 litre. It still has a lot of poop and life left in her. I am thinking she'll go to 200,000 or more.

You sound just like me. Man do I get bored with my daily driver quick. Heres what Im doing since Im ready to get a new 1. Ive come up with some rules to keep me in line. No more cars until the Barracuda is done (within reason, interior finish up stuff not included) It works good for me because I have to keep my 4x4 through the winter and around the time spring rolls around the fish should be ready and I can also get a new DD so that will basically give me 2 new (well new to me) cars. Just my 2 cents.

I set some limits, but I hit that... 3 years ago I said I am going to drive the Jeep for at least 3 years before I consider a new driver. Well, it has been over 3 years and the Jeep is running strong... But I am getting itchy.

Not sure why I get bored with my ride so quick.

I find myself cruising craigslist, nearly every morning with my coffee.