First time engine build won't fire

-

BOXHEADgumby

Reaction score
I have a 360 i rebuilt it is my first time and I took my time doing it to avoid mistakes but I am beginning to feel like I've missed something. I have the motor in the car now a 74 duster, and for the life of me it will not fire. I found that i had the distributer drive gear clocked in wrong i have since fixed that and I've checked my wires again and again and it still will not fire. I am getting spark and fuel in fact it is spitting gas back out the carb. Any suggestions ?

I have a 360 i rebuilt it is my first time and I took my time doing it to avoid mistakes but I am beginning to feel like I've missed something. I have the motor in the car now a 74 duster, and for the life of me it will not fire. I found that i had the distributer drive gear clocked in wrong i have since fixed that and I've checked my wires again and again and it still will not fire. I am getting spark and fuel in fact it is spitting gas back out the carb. Any suggestions ?
have you checked to make sure you have the timing on the correct stroke?

If it's not some kind of roller cam stop cranking on it until you are sure it will fire. If it's a flat tapper cam you'll kill it if you don't get it fired.

If it's not some kind of roller cam stop cranking on it until you are sure it will fire. If it's a flat tapper cam you'll kill it if you don't get it fired.
Good to know thanks, y'all don't think maybe my carb is the issue by chance ?

I did however it's worth trying again.
yeah, double check, i made this mistake when i was 19 and trying to put together my 360 based stroker build. I screwed up and had it on the exhaust stroke instead of the compression stroke. after 2 hours of trying, my grandfather walked out, took one look, and knew exactly what i'd done. fired up right after that.

How to set your timing.

1...Remove no1 plug, stick your finger in the hole and bump the engine until you feel compression on your finger