Hyper vs Forged

-

mopar4x4stroker

Reaction score
What would you guys suggest, I'm building a daily driven 408 that will live in the unforgiving climate of ND were temp can range from -40 - 120 deg. Not the best environment for hp motors, lots of sacrifice and compromise. One of which is piston alloy.

I'd like to go forged but the req cyl wall clearance scares me. I'm woried about cold start operation/noise/wear. I've been told that the skirts on forges wear out fast in cold conditions due to expansion and molecular characteristic of 2618 alloy. I wont be using boost or funny gas so forged would t really be necessary??? The only thing that scares me w/ hypers is, I've been told that just the slightest presence of deto and you can say bye bye.

Whats your thoughts on hypers, have you experienced mild to moderate pinging (N/A) and not had it go boom. I'm no expert tunner, I cant make any guarantees that my tune will be perfect and I might experience some light pinging at first. But, if it only takes one time to go boom than maybe I should consider looking at forged.

Any help would be MUCH appreciated cuz I plan to buy some pistons sometime in the next week. Thanks

What would you guys suggest, I'm building a daily driven 408 that will live in the unforgiving climate of ND were temp can range from -40 - 120 deg. Not the best environment for hp motors, lots of sacrifice and compromise. One of which is piston alloy.

I'd like to go forged but the req cyl wall clearance scares me. I'm woried about cold start operation/noise/wear. I've been told that the skirts on forges wear out fast in cold conditions due to expansion and molecular characteristic of 2618 alloy. I wont be using boost or funny gas so forged would t really be necessary??? The only thing that scares me w/ hypers is, I've been told that just the slightest presence of deto and you can say bye bye.